Utah Minimum Wage Calculator 2017
Use our calculator to discover the Utah Minimum Wage. The Utah Minimum Wage is the lowermost hourly rate that any employee in Utah can expect by law. There are legal minimum wages set by the federal government and the state government of Utah. The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour and the Utah state minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. The law states that whichever is the higher applies to employers in that state.
Utah is one of the states that has a minimum wage rule and ensures that their employers pay it. There are five states that do not. Mississippi, Louisiana, South Carolina, Tennessee and Alabama do not.
The minimum wage in Utah means that a full-time worker can expect to earn the following sums as a minimum before tax. These assume a 40-hour working week:
- $290.00 per working week
- $1,256.67 per month
- $15,080.00 per annum
These figures are approximate.
In addition, employees in Utah working over the 40 hours per week gain an entitlement to overtime. This must be at least one and one half times the regular hourly rate as a minimum. So, the overtime minimum wage in Utah is currently $10.88 per hour. There are some exemptions from overtime pay and these include seasonal; workers, independent contractors and some farm workers.
Note: The overtime pay is calculated as the money compensation for the hours an eligible employee works in a week. The FLSA (Fair Labor Standard Act) states that this must be 1.5 times their regular rate of hourly pay.
|Utah Minimum Wage|
Utah vs. Federal Minimum Wage
Use our Utah Minimum Wage Calculator to see your minimum hourly pay rate
To see the calculation for the Utah Minimum Wage Calculator please enter the details below. Once you have selected Utah then push 'Calculate' to see the results. You can choose another state to calculate minimum wage here.
How does the Utah Minimum Wage stack up?
The Utah Minimum Wage is set at $7.25 per hour, in comparison with the Federal Minimum Wage which is set at $7.25 per hour.