Nebraska Minimum Wage Calculator 2017
Use our calculator to discover the Nebraska Minimum Wage. The Nebraska Minimum Wage is the lowermost hourly rate that any employee in Nebraska can expect by law. There are legal minimum wages set by the federal government and the state government of Nebraska. The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour and the Nebraska state minimum wage is $9.00 per hour. The law states that whichever is the higher applies to employers in that state.
Nebraska is one of the states that has a minimum wage rule and ensures that their employers pay it. There are five states that do not. Alabama, South Carolina, Louisiana, Tennessee and Mississippi do not.
The minimum wage in Nebraska means that a full-time worker can expect to earn the following sums as a minimum before tax. These assume a 40-hour working week:
- $360.00 per working week
- $1,560.00 per month
- $18,720.00 per annum
These figures are approximate.
In addition, employees in Nebraska working over the 40 hours per week gain an entitlement to overtime. This must be at least one and one half times the regular hourly rate as a minimum. So, the overtime minimum wage in Nebraska is currently $13.50 per hour. There are some exemptions from overtime pay and these include seasonal; workers, independent contractors and some farm workers.
Note: The overtime pay is calculated as the money compensation for the hours an eligible employee works in a week. The FLSA (Fair Labor Standard Act) states that this must be 1.5 times their regular rate of hourly pay.
|Nebraska Minimum Wage|
Nebraska vs. Federal Minimum Wage
Use our Nebraska Minimum Wage Calculator to see your minimum hourly pay rate
To see the calculation for the Nebraska Minimum Wage Calculator please enter the details below. Once you have selected Nebraska then push 'Calculate' to see the results. You can choose another state to calculate minimum wage here.
How does the Nebraska Minimum Wage stack up?
The Nebraska Minimum Wage is set at $9 per hour, in comparison with the Federal Minimum Wage which is set at $7.25 per hour.